Presentation
What is a LabEx?
LabEx is a contraction of Laboratory of Excellence. It is one of the instruments of the “investments for the future” program intended to support the group of research teams working on a given scientific topic.

Its major objective is to provide internationally renowned research teams with significant means to match their best foreign counterparts, to attract internationally renowned researchers and teachers, and to build an integrated policy for research, training, high-level valorization, and a wide dissemination of knowledge policy.

The ambition of these laboratories of excellence is:

  • to increase scientific excellence and innovation, the transfer of research results and thus, the international visibility of research in France, with the goal of spreading this dynamic to other research teams;
  • to support the excellence of training programs, and to play a driving role in doctoral-level training, but also at the master’s and BA (“licence”) level;
  • to play a part in the strategy of the research institutions and to strengthen the dynamics of concerned sites.
What is LabEx EFL?

Linguistics plays a key role in the world today. Linguistic research accompanies the development of a multilingual information society, helps preserve linguistic diversity and support education through the understanding of language acquisition processes. The Laboratory of Excellence EFL  is a unique collaborative effort of about 200 researchers at USPC (Université Sorbonne Paris Cité) to contribute to this process in a significant way. 

Project

Linguistics and language-related areas have made significant progress over the last 20 years. This encouraging trend could be accelerated by connecting the different research programs and thereby improving interdisciplinarity. In this perspective, the various scientific communities are already in the process of rethinking their methods of data collection, methodologies and theoretical references. The EFL project aims to open new perspectives by adopting an integrative approach. This would bring together leading research teams in theoretical and applied linguistics (formal linguistics, functional linguistics, typology, corpus linguistics, phonetics, second language acquisition, natural language processing, computational linguistics and psycholinguistics).

Through collaborations with prestigious and multidisciplinary institutions (CSLI Stanford, MIT, Nijmegen Max Planck Institute, Leipzig, SOAS, etc.), the EFL project aims to contribute to the creation of a Linguistic School in Paris: a new innovative site and interdisciplinary where dialogue between the different disciplines of the language sciences will be encouraged, with particular emphasis on empirical bases and experimental methods and valuable expertise on technology transfer and applications. The Labex EFL will play a key role in the PRES Sorbonne Paris-Cité since multilingualism and its social impact play an important role in the Paris region, which also hosts a large number of potential private and public partners.

Research: Recently, new technologies have emerged that have changed the accessibility of linguistic data, particularly through advances in electronic resources and the development of experimental methods. This evolution modifies the way we describe languages (large annotated corpora, semi-automatic exploratory methods, statistical analysis). It also opens up new perspectives in language modeling and the human ability to learn and use new languages. This approach makes it possible to overcome certain dichotomies rooted in 20th century linguistics such as: language / languages, performance / competence, corpus / cognitive linguistics … In the light of recent advances in phonology, morphology and psycholinguistics, we hope that such a paradigm shift will be successful if it is applied systematically to all sub-domains of linguistics and to a large panel of languages. This project has everything to provoke a leverage effect by the fact that it makes work together linguists working on more than 200 languages, in a region characterized by its linguistic diversity.

Training: Labex-EFL’s training projects aim to go beyond traditional disciplinary boundaries and encourage dialogue between partner teams, disciplines and scientific paradigms. They target both graduate students and experienced researchers and will allow the Paris School of Linguistics to redefine the field of language sciences. Existing Master’s and PhD programs may be supplemented by an inter-validation of the courses organized by the various Bachelor programs, and a bilingual multi-disciplinary program at Master and PhD level will be launched with an Erasmus Mundus application.


In addition, new initiatives will include bi-monthly seminars, international summer schools and a series of visiting professors. We will create an International Chair in Experimental and Quantitative Linguistics, and seek to attract the best graduate students to Paris by calling on multidisciplinary topics. Extension actions will also be carried out.

Valuation: The technology transfer activities will be based on a long experience of the partner teams. They will take the form of distributing linguistic resources via open platforms and the development of socially, strategically and commercially useful applications (databases, books, software, etc.) while working on the filing of patents and outsourcing. The project aims to define a common strategy for the use of results in the different domains: language learning (especially for languages spoken in France other than French), automatic language processing (a central tool in a society of languages information), deterioration of speech and language (diagnosis and remediation, from childhood to the elderly). These actions can be carried out in partnership with companies, educational and hospital institutions, foreign institutions (education, R & D, health) and competitiveness clusters such as CapDigital. Finally, expertise will be conducted for government agencies, particularly in developing countries.

Our innovative and interdisciplinary project supports the excellence and multidisciplinary nature of the PRES Sorbonne Paris Cité, and constitutes a strong element of its application for Idex. More generally, we have built an ambitious project respectful of the National Strategy for Research and Innovation (SNRI) which promotes fundamental research oriented towards society and connected to economic needs, multidisciplinary approaches, respecting the precautionary principle and integrating social sciences.






Internal organization
Labex EFL consists of four major bodies :

Governance text

Management team


Christian Puech

Christian Puech

Director of Labex EFL

Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3
Barbara Hemforth

Barbara Hemforth

Co-director of Labex EFL

CNRS
Anaïd Donabedian

Anaïd Donabedian

Co-director of Labex EFL

INALCO

 

Adeline Nazarenko

Adeline Nazarenko

Co-director of Labex EFL

Université Paris 13
Pollet Samvelian

Pollet Samvelian

Training Manager of Labex EFL

Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3
Christel Preterre

Christel Preterre

Project Manager

Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3
Maxime Hebert

Maxime Hebert

Labex EFL Communications Officer

Discover Research Strands

Labex EFL is composed of 7 research strands, around which the whole of its action is organized.

Présentation
Qu'est ce qu'un Labex?

LabEx est une contraction de Laboratoire d’Excellence. C’est un des instruments du programme investissements d’avenir destiné à soutenir la recherche d’ensemble d’équipes sur une thématique scientifique donnée.

Il vise à doter les laboratoires ayant déjà une visibilité internationale de moyens significatifs pour leur permettre de faire jeu égal avec leurs meilleurs homologues étrangers, d’attirer des chercheurs et des enseignants-chercheurs de renommée internationale et de construire une politique intégrée de recherche, de formation, de valorisation  de haut niveau,  ainsi  qu’une politique de large diffusion des connaissances

L’ambition de ces laboratoires d’excellence est :

  • d’augmenter l’excellence et l’originalité scientifique, le transfert des connaissances produites et, par là même, la visibilité internationale de la recherche française, tout en entraînant dans cette dynamique d’autres laboratoires nationaux ;
  • de garantir l’excellence des cursus, et de jouer un rôle moteur dans les formations de niveau doctoral, mais aussi aux niveaux master et licence ;
  • de s’inscrire dans la stratégie de leurs établissements de tutelle et de renforcer la dynamique des sites concernés.
Qu'est ce que le Labex EFL?
Le Laboratoire d’excellence “Fondements Empiriques de la Linguistique” (EFL) constitue sa singularité dans le fait que la Linguistique joue un rôle clé dans le monde d’aujourd’hui. Elle contribue au développement d’une société multilingue de l’information, à la préservation de la diversité linguistique et supporte l’éducation à travers la compréhension des processus d’acquisition des langues.
Le projet

La linguistique et les domaines connexes au langage ont réalisé d’importants progrès au cours des 20 dernières années. Cette tendance encourageante pourrait être accélérée en connectant les différents programmes de recherche et améliorer de ce fait l’interdisciplinarité. Dans cette perspective, les différentes communautés scientifiques sont dors et déjà en train de repenser leurs méthodes de recueil de données, méthodologies et références théoriques. Le projet EFL vise à ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives en adoptant une approche intégrative. Cela permettrait de regrouper des équipes de recherche de pointe en linguistique théorique et appliquée (linguistique formelle, linguistique fonctionnelle, typologie, linguistique de corpus, phonétique, acquisition en langue seconde, traitement du langage naturel, linguistique computationnelle et psycholinguistique).

A travers des collaborations avec des institutions prestigieuses et multidisciplinaires (CSLI Stanford, MIT, Max Planck Institute Nijmegen, Leipzig, SOAS, etc.), le projet EFL vise  à contribuer à la création d’une École Linguistique de Paris :un nouveau site innovant et interdisciplinaire où le dialogue entre les différentes disciplines des sciences du langage sera encouragé, avec un accent particulier sur les bases empiriques et méthodes expérimentales et une expertise précieuse sur le transfert de technologie et les applications. Le Labex EFL jouera un rôle clé au sein du PRES Sorbonne Paris-Cité étant donné que le multilinguisme et son impact social prennent une place important dans la région parisienne qui accueille également un grand nombre de partenaires potentiels privés et publiques.

La recherche: récemment, de nouvelles technologies ont vu le jour modifiant de ce fait l’accessibilité aux données linguistiques, notamment à travers les progrès des ressources électroniques et le développement de méthodes expérimentales. Cette évolution modifie la manière dont nous décrivons les langues (grands corpora annotés, methodes exploratoires semi-automatiques, analyse statistique). Cela ouvre également de nouvelles perspectives dans la modélisation des langues et la capacité humaine à apprendre et utiliser de nouvelles langues. Cette approche permet de dépasser certaines dichotomies ancrés dans la linguistique du 20ieme siècle telles que : langage/langues, performance/compétence, linguistique de corpus/cognitive…A la lumière des récentes avancées en phonologie, morphologie et psycholinguistique, nous espérons qu’un tel changement de paradigme sera fructueux s’il est appliqué systématiquement à tous les sous-domaines de la linguistique et à un grand panel de langues. Ce projet a tout pour provoquer un effet de levier de part le fait qu’il fait travailler en commun des linguistes travaillant sur plus de 200 langues, dans une région caractérisée par sa diversité linguistique.

La  formation : les projets de formation du Labex-EFL visent à dépasser les traditionnelles frontières disciplinaires et à encourager le dialogue entre les équipes partenaires, les disciplines et les paradigmes scientifiques. Elles visent tant les étudiants diplômés que les chercheurs confirmés et permettront à l’Ecole Linguistique de Paris de redéfinir le champ des sciences du langage. Les programmes de Master et de Doctorat existants pourront être complétés par une inter-validation des cours organisés par les différents cursus de Licence, et un programme multidisciplinaire bilingue de niveau Master et Doctorat sera lançé avec une demande d’Erasmus Mundus.

De plus, de nouvelles initiatives incluront des séminaires bi-mensuels, des écoles d’été internationales et une série de professeurs invités. Nous créerons une Chaire internationale de linguistique expérimentale et quantitative, et chercherons à attirer à Paris les meilleurs étudiants diplômés par les appels sur des sujets multidisciplinaires. Des actions de vulgarisation seront également menées.

La valorisation : Les activités de transfert technologique reposeront sur une longue expérience des équipes partenaires. Elles prendront tout d’abord la forme de distribution de ressources linguistiques via des plateformes ouvertes et le développement d’applications socialement, stratégiquement et commercialement utiles (bases de données, livres, logiciels, etc.) tout en travaillant au dépôt de brevets et à la sous-traitance. Le projet vise à définir une stratégie commune d’utilisation des résultats dans les différents domaines: apprentissage des langues (en particulier pour les langues parlées en France autres que le Français), le traitement automatique des langues (un outil central dans une société de l’information), détérioration de la parole et du langage (diagnostique et remédiation, de l’enfance aux personnes agées). Ces actions pourront être menées en partenariat avec des entreprises, des institutions éducatives et hospitalières, des institutions étrangères (education, R&D, santé) et des pôles de compétitivité tel CapDigital. Enfin, des travaux d’expertise seront menés pour des agences gouvernementales notamment dans les pays en développement.

Notre projet innovant et interdisciplinaire soutient l’excellence et le caractère pluridisciplinaire du PRES Sorbonne Paris Cité, et constitue un élément fort de sa candidature à l’Idex. Plus généralement, nous avons construit un projet ambitieux respectueux de la Stratégie Nationale pour la Recherche et l’Innovation (SNRI) qui promeut une recherche fondamentale tournée vers la société et connectée aux besoins économiques, les approches multidisciplinaire, respectueuse du principe de précaution et intégrant les sciences sociales.

Organisation interne

Le Labex EFL se compose de quatre grandes instances :

Texte de gouvernance

Les axes de recherche

Le Labex EFL est composé de 7 axes de recherche, autour desquels s’organise l’ensemble de son action.
Découvrir les axes